Zone and Region Championships

See below details for Zone & Region Championships in the 2021/22 season.

Due to numerous reasons Zones in Regions 1, 2 & 3 will not have a Zone Championships in the 2021/22 season. All athletes will be able to nominate directly to Region Championships via their Little Athletics Centre/Zone Coordinator. The number of athletes who can enter in these Regions is uncapped. There are no qualification standards or qualifications events to qualify to enter these Championships. For further information please contact your Centre or Zone Coordinator. All other Region Championships Rules of Competition apply. Click HERE for the changes to the RoC.

Zone Championships are conducted in each of the 23 zones throughout the state. Athletes in the age groups U7 through to U17 are eligible for this event.  U7 athletes do not progress past the Zone Championships. The actual order of events for zone is determined by each zone coordinator (e.g. most zones run a 2-day (Sat & Sun) program, with the remaining running a 3-day (Fri, Sat & Sun) program.

MULTI CLASS ATHLETES (athletes with a disablity)

Multi Class athletes will have direct entry into Region Championships. There is no progression from Zone to Region. To enter Region Championships the athlete must click HERE. All Multi Class athletes who wish to compete must hold a classification otherwise they will be ineligible to enter and compete.


Regions with three zones will have four automatic places progress; regions with four zones will have three automatic places progress; and regions with two zones will have six automatic places progress through to their respective regions. Then a maximum of four next best qualifiers from each region will also be taken through to the respective regions. Making a total of up to 16 athletes in each event at each region.

Click HERE to view the document outlining the progression from zone to region and from region to state.

Click HERE to view the document outlining the determination of next best performances from zone to region and from region to state.


Please note:  Most zones/regions change their program to suit their zone/region.  When each zone/region’s program has been received in the office, it will be hyperlinked on the left hand column of the table below.  MAKE SURE YOU CHECK YOUR OWN ZONE/REGION.


Once zone dates and venues for the 2021/2022 season are received, details will be added below.  If your zone does not have a hyperlink it means that your zone coordinator has not forwarded the listing to the office as yet.

REGION 1 29-30 January – Tamworth Athletics Track Region 1 Order of EventsRegion 1 Full Program
Mid North Coast Zone (R1) No Zone
New England Zone (R1) No Zone
Northern Rivers Zone (R1) No Zone
REGION 2 4-6 February – Mingara Region 2 Order of Events
Central Coast Zone (R2) No Zone
Hunter Zone (R2) No Zone
Lake Macquarie Zone (R2) No Zone
Port Hunter Zone (R2) No Zone
REGION 3 5-6 February – Dubbo Athletics Track
Western Plains Zone (R3) No Zone
Western Ranges Zone (R3) No Zone
REGION 4  5-6 February – Wollongong Athletics Track
Eastern Riverina Zone (R4) 16 January – Lockhart Athletics TrackPLEASE NOTE CHANGE OF VENUE. This event will now be held at Bill Jacob Athletics Centre (Jubilee Park)
Mid South Coast Zone (R4) 18-19 December – Myimbarr Park, Shellharbour MSC Zone Program & MSCZ Event Listing
South Coast Highlands Zone (R4) 18-19 December – Wollongong Athletics Track SCH Zone Program
Western Riverina Zone (R4) 15 January – Finley
REGION 5 12-13 February – Sydney Academy of Sport, Narrabeen
North East Met Zone (R5) – Track 29-30 January – Sydney Academy of Sport, Narrabeen
Northern Met Zone (R5) 29-30 January – Barton Park, Parramatta NM Zone Program
REGION 6 19-20 February – Alfred Henry Whaling Reserve, Baulkham Hills
North West Met Zone (R6) 28-30 January – Alfred Henry Whaling Reserve, Baulkham Hills
Outer West Met Zone (R6) 29-30 January – Parker Street, Penrith
West Met Zone (R6) 4-6 February – Cornucopia Reserve, Glenwood
REGION 7 11-13 February – Campbelltown Athletics Stadium
Central West Met (R7) 29-30 January – Smithfield
Mid West Met (R7) 28-30 January – Gipps Road, Greystanes MWM Zone Order of Events
South West Met (R7) 29-30 January – Campbelltown Athletics Stadium SWM Zone Order of Events
REGION 8 19-20 February – The Crest, Bankstown
Inner City Zone (R8) 29-30 January – The Crest, Bankstown
Southern Met Zone (R8) 5-6 February – Sylvania Waters Athletics Track