Roll of Excellence

The Little Athletics Australia Roll of Excellence recognises former participants who have achieved at the highest level in their chosen sport or profession.

There are four categories: track and field, sportsman, achievers and volunteers.

Click the links to read about each year’s inductees into the Roll of Excellence, or browse the list of NSW inductees below.


NSW Inductees

Track and Field

Amy Winters (2009): Multiple Paralympic gold medal winning sprinter.

Melinda Gainsford-Taylor (2009): World indoor champion, three-time Olympian and Australian 100m and 200m record holder.

Jana Pittman-Rawlinson (2009): Two-time world champion in 400m hurdles.

Jane Saville (2010): Olympic bronze medallist and three-time Commonwealth Games champion racewalker.

Darren Clark (2011): Olympian, World Champion medalist and Commonwealth Games 400m Champion.

Debbie Wells (2012): Olympic games competitor in the 100, 200 and 4 x 100m relay.

Dani Samuels (2014): Bronze medal in the discus at the 2006 Commonwealth Games, won the gold medal at the 2009 World Championships in Athletics, attended her 2nd Olympics in London in 2012, where she again made the final of the discus event.

Nicole Boegman-Stewart (2015): Triple Olympian long jumper, who was 9 x Australian champion, held the Australian long jump record for 13 years and competed internationally for over 15 years.


Kimberlee Green (2013): Australian Netball team member and World Netball Championships dual gold medalist.

Jarryd Hayne (2014): Rugby League player for the Parramatta Eels, State Of Origin Series player, Australian Rugby League international before moving to the NFL  

Sally Fitzgibbons (2015): Professional surfer, who has been U18 and U21 World Title holder and is currently ranked in the top 3 female surfers in the world.


John Maclean (2009)Pioneering wheelchair athlete who was the first to complete the Hawaiian Ironman and swim the English Channel.

Mike Whitney (2009)Australian cricket fast bowler and TV host and celebrity.

Janine Shepherd (2010): Inspirational former cross country skiier who overcame life threatening injuries sustained in a bicycle training accident. As a walking paraplegic gained her pilots license and has authored a number of best selling books.

Paul Murray (2011): 2UE Drive Show host, acclaimed journalist and winner of the Brian White Award for Radio Reporter of the Year.

John & Len Pearce (2015): Members of the very successful all-male Australian hip-hop dance and music group, Justice Crew, whose 2014 single, Que Sera, is the longest running Australian number 1 single in ARIA history.


Barry Garment (2009)NSW administrator who has been involved in Little Athletics for close to forty years, establishing a new Centre and serving as a key association official at state championships.

Peter Wickes (2010): NSW administrator who has provided volunteer legal advice, administrative skills and coaching assistance over the past thirty years.

Jim Arkins (2011): NSW administrator who has been involved in Little Athletics for over forty years playing a pivotal role in establishing many centres in NSW, treasurer on the Board of NSW and State Team selector.

Ken Gardiner (2013): NSW coach,mentor to officials and an administrator who has been involved for 41 years, and is still involved today.

Professor Marcus Vowels (2014): Has been involved in Little Athletes for over 20 years, from medical officer and advisor for LANSW to collating data in relation to accidents and injuries sustained by Little Athletes at Little Athletics events.

Maria McConville (2015): NSW administrator and official at centre, zone, region and board of management levels for over 40 years and still involved today.